Skip to content ↓

St John’s Catholic Comprehensive School

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology

Course Details

This two-year course is equivalent to 1 A-Level.

This qualification is designed for learners who are interested in an introduction to the study of creating IT systems to manage and share information alongside other fields of study, with a view to progressing to a wide range of higher education courses, not necessarily in I.T. 

Modules Studied

The specification is divided into four units. Two externally examined units and a further two units which are assessed internally and moderated by Edexcel. The units cover different aspects of IT.

  • Unit 1- Information Technology Systems (120 GLH)
  • Unit 2 - Creating Systems to Manage Information (90 GLH)
  • Unit 3 - Using social media in Business (90 GLH)
  • Unit 6 - Website Development (60 GLH)

What can I do after I have completed this course?

Students can continue their studies to university. Alternatively, students could pursue school leaver programmes and apprenticeships.

Some job roles to pursue are a web designer, digital and social media assistant, IT consultant and more.